Monday, 3 February 2014

Waikouaiti Community Board


by Gerard Collings, Chairperson


Happy New Year to you all. I trust the festive season was relatively uneventful and that you had the opportunity to recharge your batteries so that you are refreshed and ready for any challenges the new year may bring.

A reminder to all that the Dunedin City Council (DCC) will have their regular Blueskin clean-up days on the weekend 8 and 9 February from 10am to 5pm on each day. As usual, the skips will be located at the Warrington Reserve behind the playground by the big pine trees. Further information about charges and the type of waste accepted are available through the DCC website at

The DCC have started this year’s annual plan process and are currently considering the draft annual plan for public consultation.  At this stage the council expect to issue the 2015/16 Draft Annual Plan for public consultation at the beginning of March with submissions scheduled to close in April.  The specific details of how the DCC will consult are yet to be finalised; I will advise of the details in the March issue of Blueskin News, however I strongly urge you all to take the time to make yourself familiar with the plan’s contents and participate in the consultation process. Copies of DCC documents out for consultation are available from the council office and through the DCC website

The Waikouaiti Coast Community Board’s next meeting is at 5:30pm on 29 January 2014 in the East Otago Events Centre. Our following meeting will be at 5:30pm on 5 March in the Waitati Hall. Agendas are generally available from the DCC on-line three days before the meeting through the link below. Members of the public are welcome to speak at the board’s public forum, however those wishing to do so need to advise Wendy Collard, our Governance Support Officer (ph 474 3374), before 12 noon on the day prior to the meeting.  

Remember you can view the board’s meeting agendas, reports and minutes at either the Waikouaiti or Blueskin libraries or through the DCC’s website at Members of the board are only too happy to hear (by phone or email) from members of the community about any issues within our area.


Board Contacts





The Board

Gerard Collings (Chairperson),




Alasdair Morrison (Deputy),




Andrew Noone




Geraldine Tait,




Mark Brown,





Richard Russell




Tracey Scurr





No comments: