Monday, 7 October 2013


by Deanne Burrell


On Saturday, 14 September, the Waitati Volunteer Fire Brigade held an Honours Night at the Waitati Hall to honour members’ service to the brigade and community. A great night was enjoyed by all.


A ‘sheriff’ at the function collected money for any misdemeanours, with the proceeds going towards the walking track around the head of the Blueskin Bay estuary, which is a project being driven by the Blueskin Youth Committee. $160.00 was raised on the night and this will be put toward the purchase of gravel for the walking track. Once the gravel is purchased the brigade are offering their services to help spread it on the track.


Congratulations to the following members who received awards on the night:


Waitati Special Awards:

Fire Fighter of the YearSharon Brogan.  This award is decided by members of the brigade. It is awarded to the person that the members feel contributed that little bit extra to the brigade during the year, so congratulations Sharon on an award well deserved.

Best Attendance (Musters)Sharon Brogan.  Sharon’s dedication and commitment to the brigade is constant and very much appreciated.

Piston Broke Trophy (oopsy award) Charles Abraham 


NZFS Honours:

NZQA Certificates in Fire and Rescue

Sharon Brogan

Bill Berends

Clasp to the NZFS Long Service and Good Conduct Medal

Dave Hardisty (21 years)


UFBA Honours:

UFBA 3 Year Certificate

Amanda Church

Sharon Brogan

Seraya Figgins

Bill Berends

UFBA 5 Year Service

Richard Templeton

Brent Bell

Deanne Burrell

Charles Abraham

Keith Templeton

UFBA 2 Year Silver

Richard Templeton (7 years)

Jeff Burrows (11 years)

Lindsay Scott (19 years)

Dave Hardisty (21 years)

UFBA 2 Year Gold

Allan Cameron (38 years)

Paul Clements (45 years)

No comments: